Archive for June 9, 2009

Why I love the Costco Car Wash (and you should too)

Posted in Miscellaneous Rambling with tags , , , , on June 9, 2009 by eternallylost

Went to the Costco carwash again. Went there the day before to wash my car, and visited again, this time to wash the wife’s car. The carwash is 7.99, which seems pricey, but since we live in a condo we can’t wash our cars in the parking lot (Homeowner’s Association Rules). I would happily do it myself if I could at home or at one of those do-it-yourself car washes, if there were one conveniently closeby and open when I got out from work.

Until recently, I was paying anywhere from 5-7 dollars a wash at gas station auto carwashes, like the ones at Shell or Chevron. I always manage to roll in behind some moron who doesn’t know how to use the car wash. I once had a lady almost back into my car at the Shell on Mira Mesa (right off the 15) because she was thought she could run through again (on my dime)!!

My biggest frustration, aside from dealing with those “uneducated in the ways of the automated carwash,” is the fact after shelling out the money, my car NEVER gets clean. There’s always spots. And it’s not dry enough to really drive away without splashing water everywhere. Granted, I’m a bit of a car cleaning fanatic, but I think for the money and time the machine could do a bit better.

On top of that, I recently noticed that the protective film on my HID headlights were showing frictional wear on them (peeling), most likely from the heavy brushes at these carwashes!

I was complaining about automated car washers a few months ago, and Kita highly recommended going to Costco. Man, am I sold! Here’s why:

  • Costco keeps an attendant on duty (to help the aforementioned morons).
  • No heavy brushes (means no more scratches from the carwash)
  • Rain X (keeps things shiny)
  • Tire dressing is included!

I’ll never (as much as possible) go back to those crappy automated gas station car washes again!